About NSS
  • The National Service Scheme (NSS) is a Central Sector Scheme Of Government Of India Ministry Of Youth & Sports.
  • It provides opportunity to the students to take part in various government led community service activities & programmes.
  • On 24th September 1969 the Union Education Minister V. K. R. V. Rao launched the NSS at 37 universities in all states. The scheme has been extended to all states and universities in India and also +2 level institutes in many states


  • To encourage young NSS volunteers to develop their personality through community service.
  • To motivate NSS volunteers to continue their selfless service towards community work
  • All the youth volunteers who opt to serve the nation through the NSS led community service wear the NSS badge with pride and sense of responsibility towards helping needy.

Benefits of being a NSS volunteer:

  • NSS volunteer who takes part in the community service programme would either be a college level or a senior secondary level student.
  • Being an active member these student volunteer would have the exposure and experience to be the following:
  1. An accomplished social leader
  2. An efficient administrator
  3. A person who understand human nature


  • The motto of National Service Scheme is “Not me but you”.

NSS Badge:

  • The Konark wheel in the NSS badge having 8 bars signifies the 24 hours of the day, reminding the wearer to be ready for the service of the nation round the clock i.e. for 24 hours.
  • Red colour in the badge signifies energy and spirit displayed by the NSS volunteer.
  • The Blue colour signifies the cosmos of which the NSS is a tiny part, ready to contribute its share for the welfare of the mankind.


  • The sole aim of NSS is to provide hands on experience to young students in delivering community service.

Office Bearers:

President:                       K. Harsha

Vice- President:             Pooja

Secretary:                       Priyanka Mahapatra

Treasurer:                       Khushi Singh

Programme Officer:      Ms. Shaheen Bushra

Annual Report